Exhaustion

It has been awhile since I have blogged about the things really going on in my head.  Overall I have been a fairly happy girl and life has been treating me well but I also have been having a hard time shaking this overall exhaustion I have had recently.

I try to do too much at times.  I have a job that is nonstop once I walk swipe my card through the time clock.  I enjoy it as time goes fairly quickly when I don’t have time to think about anything other than work.  I enjoy being constantly on the move and feeling like I did a lot during my day.

Oftentimes I get home and jump in the shower so I can run back out the door to a meeting, social time with friends or time with my girlfriend.  Stuff I thoroughly enjoy doing and want to do but it adds up.  I think lately my body has been telling me that I need a break from the continual movement of my life.

As an example last night was Downtown After Five, a seasonal once a month event with live music, beer and food downtown.  I got home, ate a little bit of food, showered and went right back out the door.  My intention was to meet up with friends then meet up with my girlfriend after she was done with dinner with a friend.  After an hour out and about I went home.  I was too exhausted and just wanted to sleep.  So much for Friday night fun.

So I have been spending a little more time at home doing things for myself and trying to relax.  Watching movies, reading books, a tiny bit of yoga.  It’s a struggle for me as I feel like I should be somewhere doing something almost all of the time.  I am trying to let myself accept that downtime is good, healthy and a key to being happy.

Of course this isn’t the only thing on my mind recently but I have realized without some downtime I can’t begin to process the rest of what is going on in my head.  Hopefully I can find a good balance between everything and find more energy and happiness.

Of course a little bit of comedy will help with my mood too.

 

Leave a Reply

