420 2012

I had one incredible weekend.  Within 34 hours I traveled to Atlanta…saw one absolutely effin fantastic show by Leftover Salmon with special guest Colonel Bruce Hampton.  It was my 7th or 8th show in 17 years and was possibly the best one yet!

The next day had a wonderful breakfast at the Flying Biscuit, went to the High Art Museum (seems appropriate on 420 right?) and saw some Picassos, Warhols and Matisses along with many other fantastic art.   Went to a local farmers market, the Atlanta Dogwood Festival, and topped it off with Mickey Hart and Yo Mammas Big Fat Booty Band at the Sweetwater 420 Fest.  Then drove back home to collapse in a happy exhaustion.

It was one jam-packed weekend of dancing, walking, drinking and eating.  Beautiful weather, good friends, good people, exceptional music and reminded me of just how lucky I am to be able to enjoy these things.

Life is good and I lived it up in less than 34 hours.  Okay so I didn’t get to ride my bike but f*uck it, I had a blast!!!!!

Here is a video from Friday….it is crappy and it doesn’t show the true energy that was there in the crowd but gives you a slight taste.  Truly you missed out.

Leftover Salmon

Back in 1995 I saw a bumper sticker for them that said “polyethnic cajun slamgrass” and this tune describes that and part of what they are about.  One of the few bands I find myself to be truly in love with and when I see them they feed my soul.

 

2 responses to “420 2012

  1. Karen, I saw them in 1990 In Crested Butte for the first time. I have never seen so many hippies slamdancing to cajun-zydeco-slamgrass music before. They were and are such a fun band!! Did they play the song about Alfalfas and the Boulder Creek Path? “When I grow up, I want to work at Alfalfas, where the cheese is dairy free…” Classic stuff!

    • They did not play that one but I do have a copy of a live show with that song on it. Amazingly I did not know about them until after I moved to Virginia in 1995. The Highlander in Radford, VA was my first show.

Leave a Reply

