Snowmen, Chinese Food and Trucks

I have been thinking a lot about Christmas recently.  Mostly about Christmas past and that my life no longer contains any Christmas traditions for me.  Growing up I had fairly normal Christmas days with waking up to a breakfast of this special cinnamon type bread thingy my mom would make every year and generally being lazy in our pajamas until I demanded we open presents.  So pretty much that meant in my younger years we were opening presents at 7 am and as I got older that became more like 9 or 10 when I realized Christmas day was a chance to sleep in.  Also some years we would attend the larger family gathering on my mom’s side of the family that was a family reunion of sorts.  Although that event did not usually fall on Christmas day.

As I got older and into a long-term relationship we decided to rotate our families and “us” for Christmas time.  One year his, the next mine and the next just us and then repeat.  The last Christmas we were together it was a “his family” year and we made the trek to his parent’s new home in Myrtle Beach.  It was a strange Christmas both knowing there would not be another one for “us”.  The year before was an “us” Christmas and we spent it eating chinese food and going 4-wheeling on the forest service roads near Cullowhee (NC).  This honestly was one of the better Christmases I can remember.  It was relaxing and it was all about spending time together.  There had been just a little bit of snow and we listened to the radio, drank some beer and rode through the woods for a few hours and followed it up at the one chinese restaurant in Cullowhee.

Well now there is no more us.  To be honest it is still taking some time to get used to that.  I really miss having the sense of family he and I had. So since being single Christmas has been a little different.  Two years ago I flew up to visit my parents and joined them for Christmas day and also went to the big family gathering, which I  believe was the following day.  Last year it was just me, no family.  Some friends and I had planned to go out for chinese food and make a little celebration on our own.  Then it snowed and snowed and living in North Carolina they don’t know how to handle it so most of us were stuck where we were.  Two of my closest dearest friends did make it to my apartment and we enjoyed some beer and made a snowman in my house neighbors front yard. .

We had a blast, just the three of us, drinking a few beers and making a snowman.

So that was last Christmas.  This year again, it’s just me.  No family.  Again I will have the friends, including the two pictured above!  On the right in the pic above is my friend Katharine  whom is currently living in Thailand.  She will be back over Christmas break to visit with family and friends and seeing her will be one of the best gifts I get.  I will also get to spend the day with a few other close friends, including my roommate, and we are going to do a potluck at my house.

I will be recovering from surgery on my foot so that will make this Christmas a little different and a little less fun but nonetheless I am looking forward to being in the presence of a great group of friends.  I will get to enjoy some great food, relaxation and for the first time in a few years I have a tree to enjoy!

I do hope someday to find a tradition to my Christmases but for now I will enjoy it for what it is, a day to be thankful, a day to relax and to spend time with loved ones, whether they be family or friends.

2 responses to “Snowmen, Chinese Food and Trucks

  1. It is hard when the family you knew and loved comes to an end. I have been there, and you are right that it does take time and work to establish new traditions and new norms with people you love. I am finding that even though things will never be the same again, I see how they will be better and better. I am very thankful to have you as a friend!

  2. Sounds like you’re making a tradition right there.

    Have fun!

    -Ben.

Leave a Reply

