Bittersweet

Valentine’s Day seems like an appropriate day to start this week off.  This is the last week I’m working at my current job.  I have been at this job for about 2 1/2 years and moving onto a new job seems like I am starting the next phase in my life.  During the last 2 1/2 years my life has gone through signficant changes.  A relationship I was in for over 14 years ended, we sold our house, I moved back into Asheville and I spent the last 2 years rediscovering me and mentally growing more than any other 2 years of my life. 

Valentine’s Day two years ago was the last one I spent with the ex.  Not only was it Valentine’s day but also our anniversary.  It was that year that we knew for sure that there would not be any more anniversaries for the two of us.  Thus I have a little bit of bitterness towards Valentines’s day.  It was my anniversary for 14 years.  It still hurts to have this day come around.  Especially since I’m single and I have no one to bring me a card and tell me they love me.  Although this year is better than last and by far better than the one 2 years ago. 

So it seems our lives go in stages.  I think I’m about to embark on a new stage of life.  This is the last week of this phase. This phase of the past 2 1/2 years has brought a lot of change in my life.  It’s been pretty turbulent but it needed to be. The turbulence brought change, much-needed change.  I’m ready for a little stability.  Ready for a new career, ready to embrace solidarity in my life.  Hopefully all this turbulence is over and it gives way to a nice calm warm breeze for a while.  I need it.

So I’m a little bitter about today but hoping it’s signifying a new phase of my life that will be even better than the last.  Maybe I shouldn’t be so bitter.

One response to “Bittersweet

  1. Pingback: What? No Snow? | The INTOspective

Leave a Reply

